25
Aug
10

Foscam announces the FI8918W to replace FI8908W


Moved to www.NetworkCameraCritic.com

The FI8908W has been a very popular camera allowing people to get into IP cameras without a huge investment. They are releasing the new version of this camera in the next few weeks and wanted to share what the improvements are with all of you. I will try and get one for testing as soon as they are available.

The difference between FI8908W and FI8918W

Hardware

1) The IR lights can be turned off manually from the software

2) Audio quality is improved, there will be no noise when speaking into the camera.

3) Added an audio input jack which can be used with an external microphone.

4) Relocated the network light to the back of the camera. Add a power indicator lamp.

back of camera

5) Added another IR light in front of the camera, there are now 11 IR lights in total.

front of camera

6) Removed the IO pins.

7) FI8918W has a bit larger base than FI8908W.

Software

1) Login interface changed

login menu

2) Added the ability to turn IR lights on and off.

login menu

3) Added an icon to control the recordings folder to pop-up automatically or not.

login menu

Click the icon will turn it on. Then the folder you set to store the recordings will not pop automatically when motion trigger. You need set motion alarm first. Click the icon again, the folder will not pop-up.

4) Removed Alarm Input Armed and IO Linkage on Alarm, as the FI8918W has no IO pins.

login menu


98 Responses to “Foscam announces the FI8918W to replace FI8908W”


  1. 1 Adam
    August 25, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    What’s the framerate at VGA? I’m assuming this is using MJPEG? Or does it use flavor of MPEG?

    Also, what is the nm rating of the IR LEDs (850 or greater?) – do they glow red (to the naked eye) when in use?

    Also, you mention getting a lens at DealExtreme; did you purchase the camera from them as well? I was under the impression that the version they sell is not a genuine Foscam, but an imitation.

    Nice write up – thanks!

    • August 25, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Frame rate is 15 fps in VGA mode but very adequate, especially when used with WiFi. I would guess the IR LED’s are 850nm, same pinkish red glow as my other cameras that are stated to be 850nm. I don’t know why camera vendors don’t use the less visible 930nm LEDs, maybe because people like to see the red glow so they know it’s really on.

      DealExtreme does not sell genuine Foscam, I just got the lens from them. I double check with vendors before I buy to make sure it’s a genuine Foscam because I rely on Foscam support to help me if I run into issues. Also, they provide firmware upgrades as needed. When you buy a clone, you don’t always get the support and firmware upgrades you may need.

    • March 3, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      This is my first post and I hope it will be accepted by the community.

      This code allows my Nokia E73 browser, using Opera 10.1 (and probably many other browsers) to access my camera and provides “full” functionality. In the attached zip are 2 files. The .jpg is a quick look at how the menu will look on your browser. The .htm is the actual code.

      You MUST do 4 “global” renames to the .htm for this to work for you. With the assumption you are using and have working the DynDns feature….

      I renamed the .htm to .txt and in windows used “notepad” to do the global changes.

      Rename YOUR to “your” DynDns real name
      Rename 8100 to “your” camera port
      Rename NAME to “your” userid
      Rename PASSWORD to “your” password

      If you edited as .txt – don’t forget to rename back to .htm

      When you run the window you will get a “tiny” “OK” as feedback for each command EXCEPT “SNAP” (a snapshot of what the camera sees as 1 frame) and SLOW (a one frame every 5 seconds request – without any sound – if you want sound change videostream.cgi to videostream.asf (works great in VLC). You can also do a “refresh” of the page with SNAP to see successive images.

      When you get the tiny OK – use your browser’s BACK key to return to the menu.

      THERE ARE A LOT OF OCCURRENCES – but a “change all” will do the job in a flash.

      Comments appreciated – suggestions too,
      Ken
      if ya don’t want to comment here send me an email grandpa@pobox.com put “foscam” in the subject to get past my spam filters.

      to get the zip file go to:
      http://foscam.us/forum/fi8918w-html-control-view-any-browser-phones-too-free-t521.html

  2. August 27, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Thank you for such a wonderful review. We will be stocking the FI8918W from early September at http://www.Foscam.us

    The model is in high demand and there will only be a few produced in the first batch. Depending on the market response and stability, we will eventually put these into mass production by mid September.

    Keep up the good work and I hope you will post this review to our forum at http://www.foscam.us/forum

  3. 5 Nadie Aqui
    August 29, 2010 at 7:06 am

    >>The IR lights can be turned off manually from the software

    I am newbie… and wanted to understand the benefit of this new feature – besides the obvious (you can turn off IR lights)?

    Thanks in advance

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      Some peope like to put cameras indoors facing out, maybe to capture video at their front door. When you do this, IR lights reflect off the glass and you just see a white mess. By turrning the IR lights off, you can film what’s going on outside, but of course you’ll need to have a light outside, like a porch light.

  4. 7 Nadie Aqui
    August 29, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    wow… that is exactly what I wanted to do (i.e. camera inside capturing front door). I never thought about the reflection from IR lights. Thank you, your reply really helped. Best.

  5. September 7, 2010 at 4:09 am

    DealExtreme does not sell genuine Foscam, I just got the lens from them. I double check with vendors before I buy to make sure it’s a genuine Foscam because I rely on Foscam support to help me if I run into issues. Also, they provide firmware upgrades as needed. When you buy a clone, you don’t always get the support and firmware upgrades you may need.
    +1

  6. September 9, 2010 at 4:48 am

    The FI8918W is not in stock and available here: http://foscam.us/foscam-fi8918w-wireless-ip-camera-(in-stock!)-p-47.html

    However, we only have 20 in stock so it might be sold out. In that case (and for a discount) you can pre-order it here: http://foscam.us/foscam-fi8918w-wireless-ip-camera-(pre-order)-p-48.html

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks,

  7. 12 brian
    September 9, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Started following your blog today,

    How does this camera compare to say the YCAM cameras or the Panasonic BB-HCM511A?
    How good is the image quality on this?
    Im looking at a low cost setup for a 20×20 room monitoring a daycare room.
    Dont want to spend more than $400 per camera and night vision is not a priority.

    • September 9, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      I have not tried any of the YCAM products but they seem pricey to me for what you get. As for the Panasonic, they are good reliable cameras and have reasonably good dim light capability and offer the ability to record events on an SD card. The question then must be, is it worth 3X the price of the Foscam? For simple monitoring to see what’s going on in a room, the Foscam will be good enough. For a large step above and for even less money than the Panasonic, I would go with a ACTi ACM-4201, because then you get a commercial grade camera with interchangable CS mount lenses and it’s 1.3MP or 4 times the resolution of the other cameras you are looking at. With today’s 20″+ LCD monitors, seeing a VGA image looks out of place. A 1.3MP image will fill your monitor with a good detailed image.

  8. 14 Ground Loop
    September 12, 2010 at 5:04 am

    The big question is whether the video quality is the same or better than the previous camera.
    I can’t wait to hear from someone who gets their hands on one, and has the previous model.

    I’ve been pretty happy with the FI8908W, but can’t think of any reason this would be an upgrade.
    Switchable IR is really the only non-cosmetic change I can see.

  9. September 14, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Ground Loop,

    Other non-cosmetic changes include:

    -Audio quality is improved, there will be no noise when speaking into the camera.
    – WPA2 Encryption Supported
    – Added an audio input jack which can be used with an external microphone

    With respect to video quality, it is not that much better. We are working with the engineers to get a higher quality CMOS installed and an auto iris for the next release (probably fi8906W). We are pushing for an IR cut filter to improve day time color accuracy as well.

    We will see how this goes and keep the community updated both here and on our forum.

    Best Regards,
    Foscam US

  10. 16 Ground Loop
    September 15, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Good info; thanks Foscam.

    A better CMOS sensor, auto iris, or IR cut filter would be great. I’d upgrade!

    My Foscam cameras have been the most reliable, but not the best video quality. I’d pay extra for a megapixel. The next step up is something like an ACTi, but that’s 5x the price.

    Keep up the new designs. I like the value.

  11. 17 dan
    September 15, 2010 at 7:37 am

    I recently purchased the fi8918 camera and wanted to change the lens. How hard is it to change the lens? I tried twisting the lens so they’d come off but no luck. Should I add more pressure just pull it out? I bought the lens from ebay because it was sold out on dealextreme. Do you know if this one would fit?
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260636304703&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.com%3A80%2F%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dm570%26_nkw%3D260636304703%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

    • September 15, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      That lens appears as though it would fit. You remove it by turning the lens counter clockwise and it’s stiff at first but does turn. Also, there’s lots of threads, lots of turning. The factory lens is easier to remove because it’s knurled and larger. The replacement lens has a smaller front and is smooth, so it will be a little tougher to turn.

  12. 20 Kafie1980
    September 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Does anyone have any idea what the wireless range is for this camera? I read over the internet at one forum about the fi8908w having very bad wireless range since the antenna is not powerfull enough and someone actually replaced it with a 9db antenna to get better connection to the wireless router.

    I wish it had zoom functions as well. Hopefully in another future release.

    I also wondered if it always transmitted images over the internet even while there was no one connected to it or watching anything via the cam. Just afriad it will use too much bandwidth for no reason. I assume it only starts transmitting images after we connect to it.

  13. 21 dan
    September 30, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Is there anyway to make this camera auto tilt/pan?

  14. 24 oacs
    October 1, 2010 at 9:33 am

    ive got one of these.. problem is i cant connect wifi to my apple extreme base station with WPA or WEP. it scans for it but cant connect. is this normal. is there any new firmware?

  15. 25 oacs
    October 1, 2010 at 9:38 am

    hi. ive just gone one of these.. are there any known issues with wifi (with WPA) and Apple extreme base station? It just doesnt connect – although the ssid shows up in scans.

  16. 26 Stik
    October 6, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I just set up my new Focsam 8918 that I purchased from Focsam US. I had not tried the 8908, but I find it hard to believe that the audio has improved at all. With the speakers on my PC turned all the way up (and I have tried multiple PCs), the audio is barely audible! The mic is turned on and there is faint audio, but the volume is just way too low to even be considered usable. I am trying to use it as a baby monitor, and I would not be able to even hear the baby crying from more than a foot or two from the computer. It does not appear that there is any adjustment for the microphone sensitivity (software or hardware).

    I have contacted Focsam Tech support to see if I am missing some adjustment, have received a defective camera or if this is, in fact, the “improved audio” that I am hearing. I’ll post the results when I receive a reply.

    • 27 dan
      October 12, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      DO NOT BUY FOSCAM PRODUCTS !!!!!!!!!!!
      Good luck with getting replies from foscam. I’ve sent 2 emails to support@foscam.us within the last 2 weeks and I haven’t heard from them since. I also sent a third email today but I doubt they’ll reply. I was able to contact sales but the guy told me they don’t have a phone # for tech/support department, it’s only available via email. I bought 3 FI8918W not too long ago and one of them no longer works and the other two cameras work but the wireless connection keep on getting cut off. I have to unplug the camera from the outlet almost everyday for the camera to reconnect to the router. The camera might work well with a network cable but I really haven’t tried it and it also defeat the purpose of a wifi camera. I guess I got what I paid for. Cheap product = crappy customer service. I will post another comment here as soon as I hear from them.

      • 28 Rae
        January 27, 2011 at 12:33 am

        Tech support sucks, if it really exists at all. I had the same experience with emails. Did I really think a re-seller with no 1-800 number and only email tech support, with a one week return policy was a good deal? On the list of dumbass things I have fallen for in my life, this is at the top.

    • November 23, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      It’s a known issue with a batch of camera’s. From a comment on another blog:

      “I got a reply regarding the audio already. One batch of the new Foscams are apparently faulty. The fix involves changing out a resistor and reversing the polarity of the mic connector. They sent me a pdf with detailed instructions if I wanted to do it myself or offered to fix it for me (which would obviously involve returning it through the e-bay dealer). I’ll probably have a go at it myself….. ”

      More details on: http://www.gadgetvictims.com/2010/10/quick-look-at-foscam-fi8918w.html

  17. November 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I sent them an email and received a reply within an hour. On the other hand I ended up calling the telephone # listed on the web page. Call was clearly an VoIP and took more than ten rings to answer, the VoIP was poor and the distortion made communicating with the person difficult. Not sure if he was in the US or overseas. He did not seem to comprehend some of my questions about the power requirements for the FI8905W, first he said it was 110vac then 5vdc. When I asked about the power consumption he said 2milliamps then later 2 amps.

    Unlike IPCamNetwork, I am not looking for a camera to review. I want it to put video on my weather station web site.

    • November 9, 2010 at 2:22 am

      Working with companies in China can be difficult. I always use email to avoid confusion or even Skype messenger. Talking on the phone as you found out may be frustrating to say the least.

  18. 32 Andrew
    November 11, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    How to turn off the power indicator lamp?

  19. 35 Andrew
    November 12, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Date/time is correctly customized. But on screen displayed 1 Jan 1970

  20. November 15, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Hi, Just got camera FI8918W impressed so far but am trying to change the admin password…well at least set one as assume that without it anyone could hack into the IP and view my house! I can log onto it from iphone nice and easy but assume that others can also without a password!!

    Can someone advise how I set the admin password as I have tried and end up having to reset the camera as the password does not get recognised…

    Thanks

    Simon

    • November 16, 2010 at 1:29 am

      I don’t have one in front of me now, but if it’s like my FI8908W you go to the Administrator screen, click on User Settings on the left and this will give you a screen where you can add users, change passwords and such.

      As for hackability, the connection is not secure, so yes, it’s possible to hack, but not probable. Maintain a good password with letters and numbers and you’ll be OK.

      • November 16, 2010 at 7:55 am

        Thanks, had used this screen and when changing password and submitting found that password would not be recognised and only option was to press rest and start again. Is there a min/max password length?

        Thanks

        Simon

  21. 39 Ada
    November 23, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Got my new cam on Saturday and every things work fine, except when I am using the email motion alarm feature. When I got the email when alarm triggered during the day I got 6 viewable pictures, but when it was triggered under no light condition, I only got 1 viewable picture and the rest just black boxes. Apparently, the infrared is not staying on long enough to take the pictures.

    Do you know how to fix this problems?

  22. December 2, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Hey everyone,

    I just wanted to say thanks for all the useful information and that this thread has helped me decide on whether or not to get a Foscam. I purchased one and it will come in today. I can’t wait to set it up. I’ll let you know how it goes; I’m sure I’ll need your advice getting it set up!!!

    Thanks again.

    Timothy Lassiter
    http://www.timothylassiter.com

  23. 42 Tim
    December 13, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for the review, found it really helpful. I ended up buying and using the FOSCAM FI8918W & FI8904W with Zoneminder and the cameras are working well but i have to manually change the brightness/contrast settings, has anyone worked out how to make it auto iris using the camera software or zoneminder? Its especally bad on days of patchy clouds.
    Both my cameras have the same issue

    many thanks
    Tim

  24. 43 dave
    December 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Sorry for the potentially lame question but i’m a newbie and have unsuccessfully scoured this (and other sites) for an answer… Does this cam require connection to a PC/Mac in the house or can I pair it directly to a wifi connection? I’d like to use it as a nanny-cam but don’t want to leave my laptop running while I’m away. Some cameras specifically call out their built-in webserver (for example: http://amzn.to/gDaTCK) but Foscam doesn’t specifically say either way.

    Thanks for any thoughts/help!

    • December 26, 2010 at 1:29 am

      I have run my Foscam totally independant of any PC. You can have it email you pictures when motion is detected, all using your WiFi connection to the internet. Once you received an email alert, you can connect to the camera remotely to view live video from the camera.

      The only thing you can’t do is record video. To do that, it requires that you connect to the camera using Internet Explorer or you can have NVR software record video events, like BlueIris Software. There are cameras that can record video to a built in SD card for example, but they are a more expensive than a Foscam camera.

  25. December 31, 2010 at 4:01 am

    I had the previous model of this camera and was very pleased with it. I could monitor my house from anywhere in the world. (Hi Kitty! I see you.) One day it stopped working. I contacted the seller (SA Technology) They were very friendly and answered my e-mails promptly. Not only did they replace the , Jeff from SA Technology personally dropped it off at my house! To add icing on the cake, the replacement camera was actually the newest model. I give this new model 5 stars and SA Technology 5 stars for customer service.

  26. December 31, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I’m on the fence if I should keep this Wireless IP Cam, since the Activex code crashes on both my laptops and freezes them. I’m sick of having to reboot. It’s very annoying, but I’m not sure if I really need the audio anyway, I’m more interested in photos and ability to ftp, and email pictures to an account. It’s annoying since I even upgraded the firmware to the most current version and tried to follow all the useless instructions of disabling firewalls, disabling antivirus, and allowing all active x controls even whitelisted the IP in a trusted zone. NOTHING WORKED. So far the Active x controls are the only thing broken, besides two IR lamps seem to dim compared to the rest, the ability to pan and tilt are excellent. Image Quality is fair, seems almost better in the dark, but in the dark it’s black and white.

    • December 31, 2010 at 7:56 pm

      I have not had any Foscam ActiveX issues with Win7 32 and 64 bit, IE7 or IE8 and I had do nothing other than click on the yellow banner tha pops up and install it. I know older versions of Windows were trickier. Also, if you don’t want to use IE or ActiveX, use a different browser. I use it with Safari on Windows and it works fine.

  27. 48 Roel
    January 3, 2011 at 4:56 am

    Can this be use outdoor?

    • January 3, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      This camera is an indoor camera but possibly can fit in a generic dome outdoor enclosure, but would like cost many times more than the camera itself and the IR LEDs would reflect back inside the dome at night, making it useless at night. Foscam does make outdoor cameras, but not pan/tilt.

    • January 3, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      Even though the camera is not made for outdoor usage, I did mount it under the porch. It’s online for about a month now without problems. Even though it’s freezing and misty at times. It’s probably not the best for the camera but if you don’t mind a shorter lifespan..

  28. 51 Leon
    January 5, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Does blue iris record sound and video with this camera?

  29. 52 Tucker61
    January 8, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Hi. Great blog. Just bought thus camera today. All set up within first hour. No main issues.
    Just a few questions.
    1. Do ir lights automatically switch on and off? Or do I have to do thus manually?
    2. if looking for better Lens what would anyone recommend? (not sure how to tell if lens on eBay are better than default lens.
    3. Is there any way to take more than the 5 or 6 pictures that are emailed ?

    • January 10, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      Yes, the IR lights come on automatically. Lens choice is up to you, but any lens, even cheap ones for a few dollars are sharper. Also, you may want wider coverage in a small room. The number of pictures is fixed unless new firmware changes that.

  30. 54 reyrey
    January 16, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Hello,

    I appreciate finding your excellent site and helpful information.

    I have purchased two of the newest model FOSCAM indoor cameras. I am not tech savvy enough to do the wireless set up with the router and camera configurations so I had to hire an online service. I only have one set up presently which is at a window looking out.

    The IR reflection problem is definitely one I will have to solve. Other than that, it seems to be working well but I have these questions:

    I am not getting any emails of motion detection when my computer is off. Do I have to have the computer running to get just the photos? That would seem useless because I can receive the full video captures when I am online. I want to have evidence of any activity when the computer is not on, such as times I’m sleeping for example or away. I thought that’s what the emails of this camera provided.

    In the alarm service settings menu:

    1. What is the setting “motion compensation” for?

    2. What happens by checking “upload image on alarm?”

    3. What does the “upload interval” setting do?

    4. When you use the scheduler, do you have to click in every single one of the tiny boxes?

    I would like all days highlighted between the hours of 6 AM and 6 PM. The only way I
    could do it was to click every single tiny box. I could find no easier way such as
    holding the shift key or control key.

    And finally no matter how many times I refreshed the scheduler, it would automatically highlight the Sunday hours of 0 to 6 AM, even though I didn’t check any of them or want them.

    Thanks very much for any assistance.

  31. January 21, 2011 at 5:13 am

    I bought this IP camera as a baby monitor to assuage my wife’s fears for our daughter sleeping in her crib. (The standing on the side of the crib made her nervous).
    The setup for this device was very simple. The included directions, while slightly grammatically incorrect, were easy to follow and accurate. The setup took about 10 minutes to get going on LAN, and then only a few minutes more to get the Wireless mode working.
    The camera is working great with WPA2 (AES) enabled, so no need to sacrifice security to have a camera.
    The quality of the video isn’t the greatest, but I didn’t buy this to have stunning HD video, I bought it to get a general idea what is going on. The day mode has good fps as well. The night vision mode surprised me with the clarity and what I can see. Again, it isn’t the highest quality, but it is very easy to see what is going on. You lose some fps, but you can still easily see what is going on.
    Overall, I highly recommend this camera, and I am considering purchasing more for purposes of security / home monitoring.
    I have yet to configure remote viewing (via internet), but that’s a lower priority since the primary purpose was as a video baby monitor. However, the included directions are very clear how to enable to functionality.

  32. 56 LuxSix
    January 31, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    “And finally no matter how many times I refreshed the scheduler, it would automatically highlight the Sunday hours of 0 to 6 AM, even though I didn’t check any of them or want them”.

    I have this exactly issue.

  33. 57 Kloie
    February 5, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I just got 5 of the model F18918W’s. I want to record the video when the camera sees motion. I have set it up to do that. I only want to keep about 2 days worth of video. Is there a way to delete or write over the old video? Also does anyone new how to turn off the beep when a camera is recording? Thanks.

    • February 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      With that many cameras, you’re best off getting what is reffered to as NVR software. It’s software that takes all the streams from the cameras, does the motion detection in the software and then does email alerts and recording as you wish. Also gives you a central place to see all the cameras and lets you view the cameras remotely from the internet. I personally use BlueIris Software, runs on Windows, has good support for many brands of cameras including Foscam, has a good forum for information and support and only costs $50. There are some free products, but they tend to give you limited capabilities to try and lure you into their paid product or they are open source like Zoneminder which runs on Linux and may require some skills with Linux that not everyone has. One free product comes from the largest commercial NVR software company, Milestone. They have a light version, XProtect Go that limits recordings to a few days and limits the number of cameras, but may work for you too, just not sure if they support Foscam.

  34. 60 Peternguyen
    February 11, 2011 at 3:39 am

    Hi there! I have a problem with my fi8918w that the record button not recording when I try to click it. I also try another fi8918w and it does the same problem , only audio indicated on the video every time I click on it so Talk and Record
    Button not function . So anyone please show me how to make record and talking work . Thanks!!!

  35. 61 miguel
    February 27, 2011 at 2:01 am

    With this new model you win the IR on/off switch and the audio input jack but it has not the I/O pins that the old one had!. So buying this model you’re loosing these features:

    – the little relay to on/off an external relay. I use this feature to switch on/off a cooler for the cam case.
    – the external sensor to start an alarm. I use this feature to connect door magnetic contacts.

    Too bad😦

  36. 62 TBWalkerIII
    March 8, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Is there no fix to improve the audio in the older FI8908W ? Has anyone tried anything to improve the quality? Are their any recommended Do-It-Yourself ideas from Foscam such as mentioned above in the bad batch of FI8918W cameras? Hell, I’d try and solder in my own mic if I thought it might improve the quality.

    Any suggestions other than buying another camera?

    Thanks,

    TBWALKERIII

  37. 63 bestbyte
    March 8, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    I recently purchased the fi8918w and everything works great except wifi and email. I have it set for a static ip address and can view, talk and hear with it from across town as long as it is plugged into the network. I remove the cable after I hit the submit button for the wireless setup and after the camera reboots it cant find anything. I’ve pulled the cable at various times after the submit, but still no wifi. I know I have all the setting right as it finds my 2 networks during the scan and I tried both of them, but to no avail. Any know issues with some of the cameras not going into wifi mode? or am I missing something

    Thanks in advance

    • March 8, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      Return it under warranty, I had the same problem, returned it, got a new one and it worked fine. You can get a bad camera from any company, but of course the less you pay, the higher the chances.

  38. 65 Isaac Momperousse
    April 2, 2011 at 4:26 am

    I just got the came and it works great just one thing, the IR lights come on automatically once it gets dark, I would like to find a way to disable this. My camera is mounted inside looking out through a window so the IR light reflects back. Anyone know how to stop the IR light besides putting electrical tape over them?

  39. April 3, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I recently bought one of the FI8918W cameras and I’m using it with evocam on the Mac. I’ve put up a little site with my experience here: keeping-house.ntrweb.com
    Good camera for the price – poor color and sound. Thanks for putting this blog together, it’s an excellent resource!

  40. 68 Ed
    May 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Hey everyone. I seem to have an issue with the FI8918W where if it’s on wireless the audio is full of interference, crackling, etc but when hard-wired via LAN the audio is clear. Any ideas? The picture quality is as expected regardless of connection.

  41. July 14, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I am developing a consumer robotics product that will use a wireless IP Camera. The robot is controlled remotely over the internet. Since the IP Camera already has a wifi connection, it would be great to control the robot’s motion using the IP Camera. The user would issue a command (e.g. forward) from the robot’s website, the command would be received by the IP Cam (in the same fashion it receives pan/tilt commands) and then sent to the robot’s microcontroller (in this case an Arduino Uno) for execution. Do any of the Foscams have an external interface that could be used to pass data to a microcontroller? Thanks. Russ

    • July 14, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      I believe their older model did have external input/output, there was an i/o terminal on that camera, but the new ones don’t. Your best bet is to download the manuals from cameras you are considering and look to see if they have an i/o strip and what interfaces are present. For example, on my ACTi camera, I can have a motion detect event trigger voltage on the output port or the opposite, have an input port trigger an event on the camera. Not sure if this is what you mean.

  42. 71 Kathy
    July 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I am having trouble with the 3 of my 5 cameras (F18918W) going offline and a few minutes later they will come back. Has anyone else had any problems like this. They have worked fine for about a year and then this started a couple of months ago.

    • July 15, 2011 at 7:29 pm

      My experience with WiFi cameras is that things intefere wth the signal. So if you put your camera where the signal is marginal, and remember, these cameras have pretty weak transmitters to begin with, and someone walks in between the signal, furniture is added or moved, or a device is turned on like a microwave or a wireless phone can be enough to distrupt the signal. I personally have given up on WiFi cameras, paid an electrician to wire the house for ethernet and it’s been great for me. Also, hate to say it but the life expentancy on these cameras is not all that long. I had 4 chinese cameras and only one is till standing and it’s not Foscam.

  43. 73 ric
    July 26, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    can someone tell me if the cam is plugged into ethernet and your isp dies for a few hours does the camera come back online or do you need to be there physically to reset it?

  44. 75 ric
    July 26, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    does that count for all models or just the new foscam?

  45. July 27, 2011 at 1:16 am

    I only had the older Foscam model, but I would assume the newer ones responded the same way.

  46. 77 Gary
    August 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Hello

    I have been looking for details on the motion control feature. Does it send pictures every X (x = interval) seconds as long as there is motion? Can the user define the interval?

    thanks

    • August 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      It will send pictures on a motion event, but not continously. For example, if someone triggers the motion event, it can send you an email with a set of pictures, but doesn’t reset for a while so not contineous by any means. The idea being that you would then connect to the camera remotely to see what was going on. I am testing a new camera that is not yet on the market that will alert your smartphone (iphone or android) within a few seconds, you tap on the alert and it gives you live video on the spot. I’ll have more on that in a week or two. The problem I have with emailing pictures is that it’s slow. So I may not get the email with picture attachments until minutes later, by then, the thief may have left. With the alert, it’s a few seconds later and you can see the video immediately with two way audio from your phone, now that is very cool.

      • 79 Gary
        August 22, 2011 at 4:19 pm

        Hello

        Thanks for the quick reply.

        How big is a set of pictures? 2 pictures? Taken how far apart?

        My situation is there has been some minor (so far) vandalism on the front of my house. It has happened twice in the last 2 months. If there is a third time I would like to be able to go to my computer, look through the pics and find the person (probably a neighborhood kid). I don’t have an smart phone and not really interested in real time monitoring.

        If there are only a few pics, I am afraid there won’t be one with a good view of his face.

        It seems like it would be easy to program snap pictures every X seconds until motion stops. Foscam – please put this in the software.

        Does blue iris have this option? I really don’t want to spend money for software since this is a one time issue.

      • August 22, 2011 at 4:56 pm

        You want something to record and the best solution is software on a PC. BlueIris will do what you want, but so will other softtware. For free, you can get Zoneminder, runs on Linux and is Open Source, has a forum for support. Milestone XProtect GO is a free version of the commercial software used by many large companies with some limitations. I use a cheap Netttop computer with an Atom processor for this, low power consumtion, small, quiet and cheap.

        As for the Foscam, it will be minutes apart as it has to upload the pictures from the camera to email and that’s slow. It takes a few pictures, don’t remember how many, but don’t think it’s settable. On my Axis M1031, it is settable, but too many means you have to wait longer to receive it, also you can set the time before it sends another email. I’ve had it send me 5-10 emails, each with 2-4 pics over a few minute period, but Foscam won’t do that.

      • 81 Gary
        August 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm

        Forget to ask about “…set of pictures, but doesn’t reset for a while…..”

        Is a while, a minute? 10 minutes?

      • August 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

        Maybe a minute or so, not 10 minutes. Just has to create and send the email so it may vary depending on your internet connection. The camera I’m testing has an SD card slot, so from your smart phone you can not only watch the camera live, you can take snapshots and you can view previously recorded events and zoom in with iPhone/Android zoom gestures. I’ll have this review out soon, probably during Labor Day weekend.

  47. 83 Gary
    August 22, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Thanks for all the info. You saved me alot of time googling.

    I guess I can start with the built in email option. If need to install zoneminder (or milestone) and use the MODECT option and have a dedicated PC on 24/7 for a month or two to catch them, then that will be phase 2.

    It might be a fun project. I am not good Linux – so it would be a learning experience.

    I just loaded zoneminder on debian, running into issues already……

    Guess I need to order a Foscam – seem like $83 is the going rate.

  48. 84 cherry vl
    August 31, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Thank you for your info. I have just considering of replace my foscam IP camera to a higher standard one.
    I think fi8918w may be a good choice.

  49. 85 Code
    September 1, 2011 at 4:48 am

    I am in the market for a wireless ip camera and after reading this thread, I am looking forward to reading your review on a different camera. Will there a link to the review posted here? Or will there be a “new” listing under your “categories” section?

    Like others, i appreciate your time and insights describing the various cameras!

    • September 1, 2011 at 5:01 am

      I put them in categories by brand name. The only two wireless I’ve written about is Foscam and Axis M10 series. I’m curently testing a new camera from AVTech that is not wireless. WiFi is a home consumer feature, not something you see on better cameras. I did start off with all WiFi cameras but found I was getting signal drop and caused them to be unreliable. The one that was 2′ away from my router worked great, but then 30′ away through 2-3 walls made it unreliable so at home I went with all PoE cameras, had an electrician run the ethernet cable throughout. But if you want wireless but the camera you like is not wireless, just get an inexpensive router than can be configured as an access point. I’ve gotten router/access points for as little as $20 that do this and they are more powerful WiFi radios than what is built into inexpensive cameras.

      • 87 Code
        September 2, 2011 at 5:12 am

        Great advice about an access router! AVTech mentions the Sapido RB-1602 Wireless 3-in-1 Pocket N+ Broadband Router when they showed a setup of the AVN80X. I’m sure there are other access routers out there, but I do not know where to look.

        The more I read about the AVTech cameras AVN80X and AVM745, the more excited I got. They both seemed incredible. Even the live camera demo was incredible…..allowed movement, zoom, etc. Since I cannot attach the AVN745 to my very high ceilings, I am guessing I will go with the AVN80X.

        However, I am going to wait for your review before I buy anything. I’m not sure what “OnVif” is and if the AVN314 or AVN314A are needed. I really do not truly understand the differences between these models and the AVN80X.

        I am trying to cover a large area where it is not practical to run Cat5 cables throughout the house (very high ceilings with no attic space). So that is why I was looking for a wireless solution where I could just set the camera on a shelf, table or something similar.

        Thank you for your help! If you have any other suggestions, I sure would appreciate them!

      • September 5, 2011 at 3:43 pm

        I’ll try and get a review out today for the AVTech AVN80X.

  50. 89 JL
    October 12, 2011 at 5:54 am

    my FI8908w is having color issues- blacks are blue and blues are purpley- along with that, the night vision is not activating in black and white, its just trying to make out the image in the dark.. very hard to see even with the brightness turned all the way up.. is there a setting im missing in the UI?

    • October 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      There’s no IR filter so there isn’t a b&w mode, it just appears that way at night and during the day colors are off, a design choice on the camera. These cameras can last from a few months to a year or so but eventually they fail for most people.

  51. 91 Terry
    November 5, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Interesting…
    When you said,
    “I personally have given up on WiFi cameras, paid an electrician to wire the house for ethernet and it’s been great for me. Also, hate to say it but the life expentancy on these cameras is not all that long. I had 4 chinese cameras and only one is till standing and it’s not Foscam.”

    What is it that goes wrong with them? What is their failure mode?

    T

  52. 92 Terry
    November 5, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I posted this reply question once yesterday. I see it was not answered and does not exist today.
    SO, I ask again.

    You said:
    “…(I) hate to say it but the life expentancy on these cameras is not all that long.
    I had 4 chinese cameras and only one is till standing and it’s not Foscam.”

    If this is true and you are not just saying this because you are promoting a new camera, then what
    exactly did you find to be the failure modes of these “Chinese Cameras”. You seemed to be hot for
    them in your Foscam review pages.

    If you do not answer this, then I will understand what you are up to. I will blog about this elsewhere.
    Your reviews were very interesting until you made that comment as it invalidates your past work
    on your website completely. So what were the failure modes for these cameras? After reading your
    reviews of the Foscam cameras I was thinking of getting a pair.

    Terry

    • November 11, 2011 at 3:34 am

      They stop working for various reasons. Had one work for 3 days, the wireless stop working, couldn’t reset it. Had 2 go out with the camera powering ononly after several, mayb 4-5 attempts to re-plug it in before it worked, eventually that trick didn’t work anymore. Had one die with a burnt smell. That’s why now I only buy brand name commercial grade cameras.

    • November 11, 2011 at 3:53 am

      I was away at a training facility for 2 weeks, just got back. I have tried various inexpensive chinese cameras, 2 were Foscam, 1 was a Foscam clone, 1 was a Boya, one was an IPCam, all died. When I do a review on a camera, it’s new, I don’t know what the life expentancy is, so I accept it for what it is, an inexpensive camera and it did it’s job. When I start seeing these inexpensive cameras fail and start hearing about others with the same problem, then I report it so people like you can make informed decisions. It does not contradict the review because the review can’t predict what will happen. Sort of like a car review in car magazine, everything works because the car is new, they can’t predict if the car will be as good 1 year from now. Out of all the other brands of cameras, many made in Taiwan (vs. Shenzhen for the cheap stuff), I have never had a failure on any ACTi, Axis, Mobotix, Avtech, some as old as 3 years old, all in 24/7 operation, most outdoors.

      As to if you should buy Foscam or not, check out an ip camera forum and ask other Foscam owners. My favorite forum with a lot of home users is http://www.networkcamerareviews.com/ . Another source for reviews is Amazon, search for the camera you want and for the Foscam, there’s over 400 reviews. The problem is, like me, they review them when they are new, so it doesn’t reflect long term reliability.

  53. 95 Christophe
    November 20, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Hello, I’m considering the 8918W. It seems to have all the features I’m looking for but one, and it may be there, but not obvious. I’d like to use the motion detection to signal a phone dialer to make calls vs sending an email. Is it possible? Thanks.

    • November 20, 2011 at 8:18 pm

      The only camera I know has SIP/VOIP capability is Mobotix, but can cost more than Foscam. You can of course have it send an SMS message to your cell phone by using your carrier’s SMS email address. If you have a smart phone, consider the AVTech camera as it comes with Android and IOS apps to alert you instantly of an intruder and then playback the video on the phone of the event as it happened.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 218 other followers


